Bosch Wocester 28Si pressure gauage keeps rising

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I've got a Bosch Worcester 28Si combi boiler which I have been using for the past 5 years or so without any issues.

The Norm......

I've always kept the pressure gauge just above 1.0bar when CH not on. The pressure normally rises to approx 2.0bar whilst CH is on and then when CH has been off for a while pressure drops back down to just above 1.0 bar again.

The past few days......

A couple of days ago I suddenly noticed the pressure gauge was reading 2.7 bar (whilst CH had been on a while). Whilst this was higher than usual (and 0.2bar over the recommended maximum pressure) I was not too concerned. However after the CH having been off for over half a day I noticed the gauge was still reading 2.7 bar. This now started to get my attention!!!

I understand that the pressure relief valve on this model is set to 3.0 bar so at this point I understand (I think) it did not need to release the pressure. I have checked the outlet pipe that is connected to the pressure relief valve just to make sure its was free from obstruction in case the valve opened to release the pressure sometime in the near future when the CH is on and I forget to manually check/release the pressure beforehand.

To release the pressure back down to 1.0 bar I remove the front panel and turn a small plastic nob on the side of the pressure release valve to release the water down a small plastic pipe (about 3 medium glasses full is required).

Once the pressure is back down to 1.0 bar it remains there. The only time the pressure rises again is when the CH is switched on....and then I'm back to the stage of having to manually release the pressure when we switch the CH back off.