Broken cistern lid repair

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

Unfortunately, the lid to our cistern has been broken. I have searched for a replacement, but the particular model (Shires Model Ref. 804/834/814 B57 358) does not seem to have a replacement part out there. And so, rather than having to buy a whole new tank/toilet, I wondered how feasible it was to repair the lid?

It is vitreous china, with white enamel coating and has broken into a combination of some large and some quite small pieces. From what I've read so far, a sillicone sealant is good at repairing vitreous china, but the information I've found so far is mainly directed at repairing cracks. I'm worried using a sealant may be too thick to put together several pieces? What are the best adhesives for such a job? Are any of them available on the high street?

I'm by no means a DIY expert, but am eager to take this job on, with the right advice.

Cheers.

Sponsored Links
I haven't; I can't find any contact details for them. They don't seem to have any online presence.

In any case, I thought a repair might be cheaper. If I can use the correct adhesive and then paint over with enamel paint, wouldn't that do the job?

There is a Company based in Surrey I believe that last acres of greenhouse filled with all sorts of toilet bits, new, unwanted stock from manufacturers production runs. I will try and software link to their website later.

Failing that just a new cistern with lid, which could be cheaper than just the lid you are searching for, is your next best bet. I wouldn't go sticking around lid together, it won't look that nice.

Sponsored Links
You'll probably have to buy the complete shell.

Talking of shell, be prepared to be asked th shell out an inordinate amount of money. Stockists of discontinued models think they can ask a ridiculous amount. They tend to work to the 'I've got it, you want it, cough up' principle.