Cambelt snapped!!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My cambelt has snapped on my Fiat Punto, this morning when I tried to start the car.
What sort of damage can this do to the car? is it an expensive thing to get fixed.
The car was frozen over this morning, could this of caused the cambelt to snap?

cheers

Sponsored Links
I'm not a mechanic and don't wish to worry you but it could be anything from broken or bent pistons/valves to no visible damage at all. You won't know untill someone looks.
No damage and minimal checking for damage could be about £100 for cambelt raplacement or......
anything up to or even exceeding £1000 for replacement of pistons/valves/head.

Sorry if I've startled you but just based on my experience ( not with Fiat Punto's)

Unfortunately you can expect valve damage here...the only way to really tell is to put a new belt on, turn the engine slowly by hand before starting up for a compression test. The cold weather has no direct effect on the failure - unless the coolant was frozen of course.
Stiff oil and a belt that is reluctant to bend with the cold are factors, but a good belt can cope with these.
John :)

Don’t know about Fiat’s specifically but I broke one on a Vauxhall Vectra; bent 12 out of 16 valves but the engine was running. Rebuilding engines is not a problem for me but the parts alone cost over £200 + 1 ½ days work for me to sort it all out. For a garage job, you’re could be looking at anything up to £1000 & the best option may be to get a second-hand head fitted but that in itself can be false economy as you can’t guarantee what it’s really like.