Carpet advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We’d like to get a new carpet for our hallway, stairs and landing.

We have had a quote and annoyingly a join is going to be needed on the landing. This is apparently because you want to keep the carpet all in the same ‘direction’, otherwise it might look wrong.

The join can be avoided simply by laying the carpet the other way on the landing.

I really don’t like the idea of a join (child dragging stuff along pulling it up etc).

Would it really look too wrong in people’s opinion for the landing to be laid the ‘other’ way?

I’ve no experience at all of this!

The carpet is this one: https://www.tapi.co.uk/carpet/pall-mall

Thanks for any pointers!

Some photos attached…

Attachments

• IMG_8302.jpeg
    IMG_8302.jpeg
    329 KB · Views: 23
  • IMG_8303.jpeg
    IMG_8303.jpeg
    303.5 KB · Views: 26
  • IMG_8304.jpeg
    IMG_8304.jpeg
    351.1 KB · Views: 25
Sponsored Links
Running the carpet the 'wrong' way will just mean the carpet pile will lay across the top step/riser and down the landing so the carpet may look a different shade to the rest of the stairs. In addition you may find a little premature wear on the top step, looks like that carpet is an all manmade fibre twist which will not cope as well as a wool Rich 80% Wool, 20% Manmade fibre Twist carpet on the stairs running 'the wrong way' or indeed running 'the right way' on stairs especially.

Thanks!

What would you do in my situation?! Join or lay the other way?!

I’m struggling to work out what’s best. I don’t think I’m too fussed it looking a different shade up there. The house is hardly a show house and there’s a window there casting shadows and sunlight in that area anyway.

Sponsored Links
Thanks!

What would you do in my situation?! Join or lay the other way?!