1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

central heating pump max delivery head advice needed

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by ashneedham, 30 Jul 2013.

  1. ashneedham

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,
    I believe I am in need of a new central heating pump. My system is a traditional open vent (I think that's the right term?). Living in a 2 up 2 down, we have an old boiler in the kitchen and the pump is in the airing cupboard upstairs. We have fitted a new rad downstairs and came to test it. the system fired up ok but we got no heat in downstairs rads only up. We drained the whole system whilst installing the new rad and bled the rads before starting again. From what I have researched it sounds as if the pump has gone.

    The pump is a Grundfos 15-50 and probably been in over 20 years. I have been looking at screwfix and there is a Wilo that has good reviews and sounds like a good replacement. But it states that the Max Delivery Head is only 4m. Is the delivery head that total distance that the water needs to flow vertically?

    My rooms are about 2.5m tall so from the highest pipe to the lowest is a out 3m. But I think that the pipes are setup so that the water returns back upstairs to the airing cupboard before going back to the boiler. Would that mean I have to get a max delivery head of about 6m? (Because effectively the water is flowing uphill twice, once from the boiler and again before returning to it).

    I know people will suggest to get the best I can afford but at the moment I really can't afford much over £60 and I am reluctant to spend too much because I plan to replace the central heating next year and so the pump may not be needed.

    Any advice or help is appriciated

    Thanks
    Ash
     
  2. D_Hailsham

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    9,190
    Thanks Received:
    1,116
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't jump to conclusions; it's very unlikely that the pump has suddenly given up just when you fitted a new radiator.

    Is the new rad a replacement or an addition?
    Did you have the system turned off when bleeding the rads?
    Was the motorised valve set to open when bleeding?
    Did you bleed the downstairs first?
    Did you bleed the pump?
    Did you balance the rads after fitting the new one?
    Which speed is the pump set to (switch on the side)?

    No! The head is the pressure loss in the pipes that the pump can overcome. Nothing to do with height. Your Grundfos has a 5 metre head (that's the 50), so you would need one with the same head.
     
  3. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,550
    Thanks Received:
    3,655
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can see no reason to replace the pump.

    But I do expect the system needs balancing.

    Most would say that a Grundfos pump is worth the little extra if it needed replacement ( which it does not! )

    Tony
     
  4. CBF

    CBF

    Joined:
    15 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    2,165
    Thanks Received:
    363
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's most likely an air lock, turn off all the rads upstairs & turn off the hot water on the programmer (if you can) if all the downstairs rads don't get hot then turn off the ones that do & that should force it round the others, if both ends of the upstairs rads are fully open you need to balance the system, try turning the locksheild rad valves (upstairs) so it's only open 1 1/2 turns that's a good starting point
     
  5. ashneedham

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi D_Hailsham,
    Thanks for the reply

    The radiator is a replacement but bigger and on the other side of the living room so we extended the pipes.

    System was off when bleeding.

    Don't know what the motorised valve is?

    Pump is set to speed 3. It has always been the same since we moved into the house.

    Regards
    Ash
     
  6. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,550
    Thanks Received:
    3,655
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Regardless, it will still need balancing.

    The pump should be able to give adequate flow on setting "2".

    Tony
     
  7. D_Hailsham

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    9,190
    Thanks Received:
    1,116
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are two types - see pics:


    There will be one (left pic) or two (right pic), probably near the pump.

    You open the valve by moving the lever in the slot to the MAN end. It then locks by catching in the "nick" or pushing in/out, depending on make of valve
     
  8. steelmasons

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2011
    Messages:
    8,409
    Thanks Received:
    2,458
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Stop jumping to conclusions.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. ashneedham

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are no motorised valves in the system.

    Kind regards
    Ash
     
  10. ashneedham

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi CBF,

    We are getting no heat in any of the down stairs radiators. We tried turning off all the upstairs and left it for a good 20 mins but still the downstairs rads were cold.

    Regards
    Ash
     
  11. D_Hailsham

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    9,190
    Thanks Received:
    1,116
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have a hot water cylinder?
    How many pipes connect to the boiler - ignoring the gas pipe?
    Which boiler do you have (make and model)?
     
  12. ashneedham

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a glow worm fuelsaver mk 2.

    There are two water pipes connected.

    We do have a hot water cylinder

    Kind regards
    Ash
     
  13. D_Hailsham

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    9,190
    Thanks Received:
    1,116
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How is the temperature of the hot water in the cylinder controlled?
     
  14. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,550
    Thanks Received:
    3,655
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If there were no motor valves then he must have a gravity hot water system.

    Someone should check if his boiler permits that.

    Tony
     
  15. ashneedham

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Although we have pipes going into the cylinder, we have never had hot water from the boiler. We have had to use the immersion heater.
     

Share This Page