Coal Chutes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi peeps, bear with me I'm new to this. :confused:
Recently my next door neighbour passed away after which my wife and I were told we had been left approx 200wt of coal, which now has to be relocated. :rolleyes:
Our house has a cellar, which has a section to one side for the storage of coal with the chute hatch outside the front door.
My question is will I need to do anything to it before I start relocating the coal from next door?

Sponsored Links
Well what do you want to do ?

Put down a carpet so the coal knows it's going to a good home ? :rolleyes:

You can hire temporary conveyor belts if it's a lot of coal.

Otherwise large quantities of beer and a rugby team!

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the funnies,peeps, if I'd wanted a Comedy site I'd have gone to the Comedy Store. As I didn't make myself clear previously, Here Goes Again. As the chute hasn't been used, for god knows how long, I want to know if there needs to be anything STRUCTURAL done before the coal IS RELOCATED. Any sensible replies will do nicely. :p

What is your concern? If this is a typical terrace house with a metal lid covering a small space leading into the cellar, (a bit like a well shaft) why don't you just stick your head up it and look?
The brickwork
may need repairing, or it may even have been filled in, but there is nothing that can be determined without inspection.[/i]
Be aware of the dust created when you tip coal down it if you are using the cellar for anything.

What is your concern? If this is a typical terrace house with a metal lid covering a small space leading into the cellar, (a bit like a well shaft) why don't you just stick your head up it and look?
The brickwork
may need repairing, or it may even have been filled in, but there is nothing that can be determined without inspection.[/i]
Be aware of the dust created when you tip coal down it if you are using the cellar for anything.