Commercial Gas

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey guys, I'm a plumbing/heating apprentice and one of the assignments my instructor gave me was quite a headscratcher, I need some formulas and calculations here. Here's the scenario.

Discribe how to install gas pipework from meter to appliances. Total kW on appliances is 316 kW. (Yes that's 316 kW, we do commercial gas for restaurants ect) Work out what pipe size is required from the meter.

The appliances are: Range cooker, oven, 2 x frier, steamer. Which brings the total heat input to 316kW.

There are 6 elbows in run to the appliances, and 5 tees (all fitted with gate valves and are connected to the appliaces via flexies)

Now, I know how to actually cut, thread, join the pipe, but I can't actually do the calculations as my instructor is usually doing them.

Oh and the pipe we use is grade black low carbon steel, even though it's painted red!

Any thoughts, formulas would be well appreciated.

Sponsored Links
You should have all the info required @ the assesment centre (IGE/UP/1)

316kw? , are you sure?

Without length of pipe runs , appliance input etc etc it's an impossible question to answer.

The steel used would be medium grade (blue) , the 'red paint' is red oxide , some suppliers will have the steel already painted other won't , yellow orca will be the final colour coat. :D

You should have all the info required @ the assesment centre (IGE/UP/1)

316kw? , are you sure?

Without length of pipe runs , appliance input etc etc it's an impossible question to answer.

The steel used would be medium grade (blue) , the 'red paint' is red oxide , some suppliers will have the steel already painted other won't , yellow orca will be the final colour coat. :D