conservatory flooring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
:rolleyes:
Hi.hope someone can point me in right direction..............
I've taken up the ceramic tiles in the conservatory to find some of the ply and floorboards rotting ( mostly in the corners).The conservatory is either stiffling hot in summer or freezing in winter as it only has one rad, which I'll change to a double.It's only used when it's comfortable.
Should I:-
1) replace the rotten floorboards only and stain them?
2) re tile
3) lay laminate flooring
or is there any other solutons worth considering?(I read someone on about engineered flooring. )
Grateful for any views as I don't fancy doing this job again..

Sponsored Links
Hi,

I'm not an expert, but I'm in the process of removing my bathroom chip floorboards which are rotten also. I've been told to do this becuase I want to lay tiles that will create a waterproof area.

After speaking to lots of people (tilers, bathroom fitters etc..) I was told that if I didn't replace the floorboards, the tiles would move (as the floor flexes becuase it's rotten). You can get a special tiling adhesive that will cope with some floor movement, but in the end, if you want your tiling watertight, the floor beneath has to be stable (if you're laying tiles).

It depends just how rotten the boards are and whats causing them to go rotten. If you don't sort out the cause, then it will just get worse.

Laminate flooring has the least potential to break up as the floor beneath moves...

What's beneath you floor? concrete / wooden joists etc?
How is the floor held down? (nails, screws)?
Is is overboarded with ply? if so this may have been stuck down with glue and screws to another floor beneath. The last time I took a floor up like that, I needed a circular saw and a large skip.
How much do the floorboards move when you step on them?