Conservatory roof problem - please help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

Struggling with sorting an existing conservatory roof.

Moved in to a place in Sept 08 and the conservatory was a bit of a shocker in how poorly it had been done. Don't know what the official conservatory type is but is probably best described as a 'lean to'.

I'm no expert, but for example - the polycarbonate roof panels did not have any seal on the exposed ends and were full of moss at the end etc.

The ends of the roof struts supporting the polycarbonate sheets had just been filled with sealant, so that all the polycarbonate roof panels had slid down and away from the main house wall.
In fact one had such a big gap with the wall that you could see the sky through the gap! :eek:

Anyway, guess you get the gist.

I've managed to push the polycarbonate sheets back up to where they should be (using a hammer and some wood to protect the ends in of the polycarb sheets).
But the seal on the inside at the end was getting folded back on itself and was restricting movement a bit so I took it out.
Now the sheets are back in there must only be 0.5mm clearance :confused: pic provided View media item 13797The side ones are still in, but I cant push the end seals back in.

Any suggestions where can I go from here?

The sheets seem in too firm to try to slide out - is there an easy way to get them back a bit?
When should this seal be fitted - before or is just badly made and they should be possible to slide in?

Help appreciated!

Sponsored Links
The roof bars should snap in from above , you should be able to prise them out and reposition the sheets and then resecure.There should be a capping to the exposed end to prevent insects etc entering.

The roof bars should snap in from above , you should be able to prise them out and reposition the sheets and then resecure.There should be a capping to the exposed end to prevent insects etc entering.

Hi foxhole, thanks for the reply.