Consumer Unit / Garage Electrics

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all :)

I am wanting to run suitable electrics to my large garage and I will be getting an electrician in to do the work.

The electrics in the garage will need to run a large compressor, small lathe, pillar drill, pond pumps, sockets, lighting etc etc.

My plan is to have a consumer unit in the garage for the above circuits, I spoke to the last electrician I had round in passing and he recommended 16mm cable on a 63a RCD! Does that sound about right?

Im an auto electrician by trade myself, so before I get a professional round I want to have things clear in my own head, plus I have floorboards up at the moment as im fitting a new bathroom along with other plumbing work, so would make sense if I can do some of the dog work myself (ie running the cable).

So the things I want to get my head around are:

1. My consumer unit in the house appears to be full (which is the latest MK unit), so would a separate 63a garage CU next to the main unit be recommended?

2. The total run from the CU to Garage is approx 25-30mtrs, so would 16mm cable be recommended

3. Can T&E be run to a box on the outside wall to a waterproof box, and then 3 core armoured cable to the garage CU

Any help or pointers would be recommended so I have a clear idea in my head and can explain what I want better for when I get someone in

Cheers

Al

Sponsored Links
You need to define a "large compressor"

Single phase motors take several times their running current to get going so it essential you know what the start current will be to prevent excessive voltage loss. Anything more that a 3HP or so is going to give you headache

Then you also need to address motor loads for the lathe and the pillar drill. (these'll probably be insignificant compared to the compressor but still need accounting for)