Cooker/Grill is tripping only the lighting circuit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

I am new to this but was wondering if anybody had any ideas..

When the oven and grill are both on they often seem to trip out the downstairs lighting circuit..

* The cooker is run on its own 10mm supply which does not trip out, but is on the same side of the consumer unit as the downstairs lighting.
* The downstairs lights are on their own 1.5mm radial consisting of 2 pendant lights, 2 sets of wall lights and 6 downlights in the kitchen (mixture of 50w halogen and 3/5wLEDs
*Nothing else trips out and it is only when the Grill and Oven are on at the same time
*The washing machine is also on (Downstairs ring and is still running)

Anybody have any ideas what could be happening??

Cheers

Sponsored Links
what's tripping then, the rcd? or the mcb for the lights?

If it's the RCD sounds like one of your elements could be failing and tripping the RCD.

Its the MCB for the lights - The RCD (also with the cooker on is not tripping

Sponsored Links
The house was completely rewired about 10months ago but it is only more recently I have noticed it happening.

3 times in last couple of weeks

Sometimes it will let you reset the MCB and it will go again within a couple of mins, other times it wont reset until you have finished cooking.

Luckily has been light every time so far so can finish cooking then reset!

When the oven and grill are both on they often seem to trip out the downstairs lighting circuit. [MCB]
Goodness. As I'm sure you realise, this is pretty extraordinary, verging on the totally bizarre - and, at first sight, it's very difficult to think of a possible explanation for what you describe (other than a complete c**k-up of the wiring! - an {obviously incorrect} connection between the two circuits could cause this to happen).