Curry's disaster... washing machine inlet & waste hose sizes?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just ordered a new washing machine from Curry’s, and pad for installation etc. When the guys got here to do it, they told me I had an extended inlet hose, a new one should be fitted, and they didn’t supply them. Needless to say, had they made me aware this was a possibility up front, I’d have been able to do something about it – he admitted that this happens frequently.

I asked why a new pipe was needed, and it seemed it was actually only the rubber washer in the end which joins the machine… he then went on to tell me that my (also extended) waste pipe had “the wrong size end”, and coolly asked me if I could supply him with a bit of copper plumbing pipe so that the could make it fit! Not being a plumber, I don’t keep such things – and if I was a plumber, I don’t suppose I’d be asking them to install the machine…

So now I’m left with a new machine sitting in the middle of the floor. I don’t want any further involvement from Curry’s, so I’d like to hook it up myself if possible. So two questions, if you wonderful guys could help me:

1. While it’s no problem for me buy a new extended inlet hose, it’s routed VERY awkwardly, and I’d much prefer to leave the existing one in place if I can – can I just buy a pack of rubber washers? What size would I need please?
2. Are there in fact two diameters of waste pipe, or was he talking out of his arse? The old one just looks stretched to me… its internal diameter seems to be about 28mm, with the external diameter of the waste pipe actually on the machine about 25mm. So is there some sort of adapter I can buy from Screwfix, or do I need a new extended waste pipe too? Again, not a massive problem having to buy one, but the routing is so awkward I’m not sure I can do it :(

Thanks guys, very much appreciated.

Sponsored Links