cutting shapes in floor tiles

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
The missus is putting pressure on me to lay ceramic floor tiles onto our bathroom floor. Im completely new to tiling but it's looks fairly strightforward to be honest. It's a ground floor bathroom and I'll be laying the new tiles onto the existing old floor which has very old tiles already on it.
The floor in question is only about 2 metres square and I was thinking of tiling around the bottom of the toilet basin and sink stand. Can this be done?

I do a lot of glass cutting for a living and I was just wondering, do I use the same or similar technique when cutting ceramic tiles? How exactly do I cut curved cut-outs in floor tiles?
I dont want to have to lift up the toilet if I can help it.

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Hire a tile saw, messy but easy, for cuttung curves just nibble.

I've got a tile cutting "thingy-me-bob" for cutting straight edges but I was a bit sceptical about cutting curved cut-outs.
So do I just score the outline into the tile and then nibble away with a pair of pointed pliers or would a coping saw do the job better?

Sponsored Links
Glassman
you can get a lot of good hand tile tools at that link above for the "nibbling" an the guy there Dave is a Top Bloke .....;)

I always used him for our firm ,his Dahm washboys are No1 ...

Cheers fella's. That looks like a great site.

Im actually now toying with the idea of getting the rodsaw or maybe the tile jigsaw blades.
Looks like the best and safest method to me.

RODSAW LINK
http://www.tradetiler.com/acatalog/tile_Hole_Cutting_drilling.html

Im new to tiling and the nippers look a bit heavy duty to be honest and I want to get the cleanest cut possible being the perfectionist that I am. ;)

"The missus is putting pressure on me to lay ceramic *floor* tiles "

the rodsaw is only real good with wall tiles , get a pair of nippers ,Power Scribe,Tile File .....