damp plasterboard

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
in my shower the bottom run of tiles has been letting in water from the first line of grout, i have removed the said tiles ( they more or lesss fell off as the water had blown the adhesive behind and left the plasterboard all wet and crumbling. do i just wait for it to dry out and re stick the tiles or would it be possible to cut out and replace the wet plasterboard?

Sponsored Links
i managed to get the old tiles off intact and can re use them, but i think i will have to bodge the job as i cant re tile the whole shower its just too big a job, so i intend to cut out the old wet plasterboard and replace it with new plaster board or ive seen something in other threads called aqua board (does anyone know what this is?). if i leave say a 2mm gap between the new board and the old one will this stop any future capillery action? im very new to all this DIY stuf and don't want to bite off more than i can chew. also the house is only 5 years old so i dont know if the existing plasterboard is on battons or just stuck to the wall (you know what contractors are like!!) Any help would be appreciated as i am still waiting for the old board to dry out so wont be doing any more work till its dry

I'm afraid plasterboard is no good as it's not waterproof, really need to be tanked. Do a search on Moz or Jasonb for the details, come back if you can't find it or want to know more.

Found one here

thanks masona
i have read Moz's posts and found them very useful. have you heard of Aquaboard? or do you know anything better than plasterboard that i can use, as i will cut out the old plasterboard and refit new stuff then re tile over it!

it seems the easiest way forward at the moment...

Sponsored Links
Like I say plasterboard is no good in the shower area, have a read here inwhich I have written to the manufacter although I don't agreed with their reply but that's for you to decide.