1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

Detecting current in twin plus earth

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Blitherer, 30 Jul 2011.

  1. Blitherer

    Joined:
    16 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I realise that one can use a current clamp meter to measure current in a single conductor, but is there anyway to measure current in twin plus earth without disconnecting it or cutting it?

    Thanks

    M.
     
  2. fireman22

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    796
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well if you loosen the accesory box you can use a mini clamp meter and clip it around one of the live conductors, i have done this to test immersion heaters inside the switched spur, otherwise outside say a twin & earth the answer is no
     
  3. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. Wontdothatagain

    Joined:
    12 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. doni

    Joined:
    10 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "Unlike conventional clamp meters, the Megger MMC850 Multi-core Clamp Meter has a complex array of planer magnetic sensor coils to calculate the current flowing in the conductors of multicore cables with either 2 cores or 3 cores, and in either flat or round section cable, up to 100 A. The convenience and potential time saving from using the Megger Multi-Core Clamp is considerable."

    ?
     
  7. fireman22

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    796
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    must admit i havent seen one of these, does anyone know how accurate the reading it gives is?
     
  8. martinxxxxxx

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think Megger would lie so consult the MI online, someone might do it for you.
     
  9. cumbriahandyman

    Joined:
    23 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure of the accuracy but at up to £145 each + £25 for a calibration cert, they are not for the DIYer.
     
  10. JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    23,995
    Thanks Received:
    1,533
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They claim that it has a resolution of 0.1A and an accuracy of 5% + 10d, such that it is 'reasonable' for currents in the range 2A - 100A, but pretty useless for currents <2A.

    I've seen talk of these before, and must say that I'm rather intrigued by the described technology, and rather surprised that it can give anything approaching accurate results; at the least, I would have expected it to be very orientation-sensitive.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  11. fireman22

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    796
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i wasnt saying megger would lie i just meant how accurate is reading as the jaws have a centralising bit and wondered how critical it would be to have a true reading on a flat twin & earth cable, has anyone used it?
     
  12. RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,414
    Thanks Received:
    1,114
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just knocked this together in my workshop

    [​IMG]

    :D
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  13. martinxxxxxx

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is brilliant, thanks for going to the trouble and to think I couldn't even be bothered to do a google for the MI.

    I have a question are all of the instuments "in calibration"? Oh and I can't read the left hand one. :oops:

    Thanks Martin

    PS we'll have to think of more things for you to knock up and photo - your experiments are one of the best things about this forum - that someone is prepared to do something practical to add to a discussion. Well Done
     
  14. EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    11,507
    Thanks Received:
    1,310
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It says 01.9 as well.
     
  15. RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,414
    Thanks Received:
    1,114
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unfortunately none of the instruments are calibration. I have never needed a clamp meter that is bang on accurate, so con't justify £40 a year on it.

    The load was a 500W halogen lamp, so the readings are possibly a little on the low side, but they are near enough.

    The meter on the left says 1.9A too. It's my meter I use at work and has got quite sratched so is a little difficult to read in the picture.
     

Share This Page