Electric Mira Shower Misbehaving

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a MIRA electric shower. Its heating up alright, so no problem from that point of view.

The only thing I changed was 6 months ago, the cord connecting the heating unit to the shower head developed a slit causing a leak. Therefore, I bought a replacement from one of the DIY stores.

My problem for the past 3 weeks.

Normally, when I switch off the shower, it keeps running for 30 sec - 1 min and then stops altogether.

Now, what's happening, the water will simply not shut down.

The only way for me to make it stop (eventually after a couple of hours) is to turn the thermostat to maximum "hot" - i.e. the red zone on the knob.

I have been awfully busy with work and will need to get someone in the new year.

I have no experience of showers, but I suspect it might be some sort of "valve" problem with whatever shuts the water down. It can't be with the heating system since the water is heating up.

I would very much value people's opinion.

Is it worth getting someone to check it and then get the spare spart.

Or is it better just to change the whole shower. I like my bathroom as it is and I really don't want anyone to crack all my nice bathroom tiles!! Any views on that.

Sponsored Links
What type of Mira . sport, advance, M7, supreme, zest. we need to know!
The hose, did you replace with a like for like eg is the bore of the hose the same as the old one (the size of the inside of the hose). Miras can be very picky if they don't get the right amount of water down them.

Ps your my 100th post is this a mile stone or mill stone

Thanks for your reply,

I want to get some advice from the experts before asking someone to come over, unfortunately I've been swindled big time before.

Its a Mira Zest

No, I just got a replacement hose from Wickes. It seems to fit just fine and certainly gave me no problem for at least 3 months since replacing it, so I doubt its the problem.