Electric shower help please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys im new to this.

If you can help it would be great.

I currently have a mains fed electric shower (Ground floor)
the pressure in the shower is not so great esp when you heat it up.

I am thinking of running a new pipe work from the cold cistern tank in the LOFT (3rd floor) to the shower and have a triton t90xr pumped shower installed.

Can you advise if this will improve the pressure ?
If any one else has this shower their experience of the shower in terms of the pressure is provides.

Sponsored Links
I currently have a mains fed electric shower (Ground floor)
the pressure in the shower is not so great esp when you heat it up.
Has it always been poor or are you having to turn it up higher than before to get a hot shower ?

What shower is it and kw ?

I am thinking of running a new pipe work from the cold cistern tank in the LOFT (3rd floor) to the shower and have a triton t90xr pumped shower installed.

Can you advise if this will improve the pressure ?
No, it won't.

The flow from the shower will reduce as the temperature is increased. This simply due to how electric shower works - it's just a box with a heating element inside. Doesn't matter where the water is supplied from, or if it is pumped or not.
Less flow = water stays in the heating chamber for longer, so is heated more.
More flow = cooler water.
This situation is always worse in the winter, as the incoming water will be cooler.

The Triton t90xr and others like it are designed to be used in the unusual situation where the mains pressure is too low to operate a normal electric shower. Or there is the inexplicable situation of only having a tank fed cold supply and no hot to go with it.

Your only options to get a better shower are to fit a higher rated electric one (although that won't make very much difference), or get a proper shower installed.

Sponsored Links
Do you not think the pressure would increase if I added a pump?