Fault on worcster 28i

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys, just joined this forum and so here goes. I am a corgi registered engineer and have recently started to repair combis of all types and names.

So the question I want to ask is, I was called out to a worscter 28i after a contractor had fitted an outside water meter. So I automatically assummed there would be debirs on the cold inlet which was restrciting the flow switch. But after checking the boiler I found it was neither working on the hot water or heating and the customer is adamant the boiler was fine before the installation of the water meter.

So here's what happens the boiler goes to fire up, the pump starts, the fan starts, the aps makes the switch and then there is nothing no spark nothing. I put my multimeter on the 2 pins of the gas valve connection on the PCB and there was no reading. Does this indicate a fault with the PCB if there is no voltage from the PCB to the gas valve or have I missed something. There was no manual with the boiler so I was going off experience. Any help or advice would be appreciated before I buy a PCB.
Dave

Sponsored Links
Good you have proved the aps,

testing gas valve won't establish what's wrong when the problem is no spark. I don't know the test for the spark, it's at very high voltage. I would say make sure route to electrode is free of shorts and that ceramic part isn't broken just like you do on a manual spark igniter. Clean electrode tip, check gap.

If still no spark phone Worcester they may say is there such and such at so and so pin on pcb.

I haven't checked the spark generator because I assummed you would need voltage at the pins of the gas valve from the Pcb after the pcb has been proved and the spark generator works in tandem with that, or is the sequence after the aps switch has been proved that the spark generator should be going initially before voltage at the pins of the pcb.
Dave

Sponsored Links
davyboy10 said: