Fitting A combi

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Greetings all

I am planning on removing my back boiler to have it replaced by a combi (as it is just me in the house and my back boiler is terribly innefficient), anyways i was hoping you could point out any obvious pitfalls before i begin.

I am an aircraft engineer by trade and competant at diy/manual tasks but have never tackled a domestic plumbing job of this size.

i intend to put the combi in my current airing cupboard (external wall on1 side) and do all the water side myself then get a corgi guy to connect the gas and test it.

I was originally going to get a plumber to do all the work but i have not had a quote under £2000 (my limit) and i am not sufficiently wealthly to be paying more than this, especially as i have supplied the boiler myself.

appreciate you taking the time to respond
kind regards
dave

Sponsored Links
" do all the water side myself then get a corgi guy to connect the gas and test it. "

A lot of people think that way, but it IS NOT ok, any more than connecting your own gas. If you find a corgi first you should be able to find a compromise, but he won't do the tecky bit at pipe runner's rates.

There's a lot of bits you won't have any idea you need to know. Not the science of the moonly rockets, but a bit like me asking you if I can put the wires in my aeroplane and have you come along and plug the instruments in and give it the once over.

I understand your logic, so this is not a job that should be done myself.

Is £2500 an exceptable price to pay for someone to undertake this work, i have new radiators and boiler so i just need someone to do the job?

kind regards
dave

Sponsored Links
There's quite a list of stuff to be done, so it would help if you agreed to do some - like getting tanks out afterwards, removing the old boiler once it's capped off, getting the mains water to the cupboard.. Well under £2k I'd have thought though without seeing it it's always easy to underestimate.