Flat Surface

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys,

I'm really new to the whole DIY thing and i really need some advice. i have a Lay Z Spa.

http://www.drinkstuff.com/products/product.asp?ID=2623

Its basically an inflatable spa with a base diameter of 2060mm. i need a flat surface approximately 2500mm which is flat for it to sit on. it weighs almost a ton without people in it.

i was thinking about decking but the problem is that i am in a rented house. i have concrete slabs in my garden which from house to grass measure about 2200mm so it would fit the spa but I'm looking for it to overlap on to the garden slightly. the slabs are very level but have a ridged texture

i really don't fancy digging as it will no doubt annoy the landlord but can anyone sujest what i could do to make a flatter surface for this spa. if its decking i can only really make a frame that is not connected to the house or in the ground sit that atop the slabs.

the essayer method is to get a thick sheet of some kind of board and just sit that atop the slabs in either case I'm hoping the weight of the spa alone will hold these in place. the problem with the second option is what board? i don't want it to rot.

I am really looking for the cheapest simplest solution to my dilemma. if it was my won house i would have decking down but as I will be in this rented house for at least the summer, i need a quick . my dilemma

Sponsored Links
were you drinking when you wrote this?

Anyway, what about a big sheet or two of exterior grade ply from B&Q? The thicker it is, the more regid the surface. Big sheets will take out some of the un-evenness of the slabs, although you may have a problem if the patio is sloping significantly. Is it?

WabbitPoo said:
A little, its probably more because im really tired.