Flexible tap connectors

JBR

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Apologies if this has been answered before, but I cannot find it in the search facility.

I have a new monobloc tap that comes with 12" flexible connectors. The distance from the tap to the pipes (or rather the isolating valves) to which they will connect is only about 8", though. Would it be OK to connect them with a small curl to take up the extra length, or will this cause problems.

Sorry if I sound a bit thick, but I've never done this before!

Sponsored Links
Providing you don't kink the flex you will be okay, it may add a little more resistance between valve and tap but should not be any issue.

• Thanks
Reactions: JBR
Thanks for your help.

If it does cause any pressure drop, or other problem, I suppose I could buy shorter flexible hoses. I'm not sure if they do them to fit a specific tap's thread, though. I'll search if need be.

Thanks for your help.

If it does cause any pressure drop, or other problem, I suppose I could buy shorter flexible hoses. I'm not sure if they do them to fit a specific tap's thread, though. I'll search if need be.

Hi JBR.

The braiding on the outside of the flexi will help to support the inner pipe if it's curved a bit. The water inside pipe will also help support the shape of the pipe. Just avoid any tight kinks that crease the flexi. It's better that it's a little too long rather than stretched.

If you do buy other flexis, you need either 10 or 12mm threads on the tap end. And buy WRAS approved flexis.

Good luck!

WS66

Sponsored Links
Thank you WS.
I'll try the 300mm ones then - when I get round to it!

I suppose I could buy shorter flexible hose
You could but not sure anything less than 300mm is common or available never come across them less than 300mm.
The other alternative, providing it does not affect access to the iso valve, is shorten the supply pipes.