Flushing the heating system on Grant Combi 90

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This is an extension to a previous post, which thankfully you guys have helped me work out what was faulty with the boiler. When this is fixed I would like to do a chemical flush..

I can't find any drain points on any of the rads. So I have the feed and exit on the combi via the chrome flexi pipe for topping the pressure and there is a drain point at the bottom of the boiler.

Can someone do a walk through with me as I have never done a flush/drain/topup system before! i have read the FAQ but I don't seem to be able to make sense of it!

I was going to get that fernox stuff to flush it via the mastic gun, and then the inhibitor after the flush is complete.

Thanks and sorry for being dumb!

Lee.

Sponsored Links
AND I MEAN NOW NOW NOW!!!!!!!

How much cr@p is in the system when you remove a radiator?

hehe

not much, seems pretty clear but this is only from the bleed valve, as I have not taken any rads off the wall yet. I have been topping up the system for quite a while and I know the previous owner was topping it up every month or so, so I reckon it could be pretty manky in there! As I said in a previous post, I am almost topping it up every day due to a faulty expansion vessel which I will be fixing at the weekend.

I will just flush with clean water I think then put inhibitor in throught the bleed valve on one of the rads. I just need to know what I need to do. Where can I drain it from, how do it fill the rads again, etc? it's probably one of those things that once you've done it, it's easy, but I can't figure it out at the mo. I read the faq about doing each individual rad 1 at a time, but I don't know how to do this in terms of where do I drain it from. Surely I don't have to take each rad off one at a time? Do I have to take any of the rads off?

Thanks and again sorry for playing dumb! I just need someone to walk me thru this one!

Sponsored Links