Galaxy G2 or Yale 6400?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Can anyone advise a good alarm for £350 that is both wireless/wired and GSM ready or can have GSM added on?

I live in a rented house at the mo so will need the alarm to be wireless, however hopefully when i get a house next year will possibly install it as a wired system (depending if i redecorate the house or not)

I've had a quick look at the Honeywell Galaxy G2 system which looks like it ticks the boxes, however if i go for a purely wireless system have been looking at the Yale HSA6400

I'm planning on fitting the control panel under the stairs where there is a power socket, however i will need an entry keypad in the hallway (no socket). Is it possible to fit a wireless keypad (battery powered) in the hallway as i dont want to be drilling walls to run a cable as its rented accomodation?

I'm an electrician and am quite technical so installation shouldnt be an issue, configuration may need some pointers though

Thanks

Sponsored Links
If you need wireless keypad, Galaxy doesn't support that. You could just use wireless fobs for set/unset though.

the Yale is a low-cost, easy to fit, DIY product. It is especially suitable for a rental home as you can take it with you when you move. You can add a wireless keypad near the front door.

If you can install a wired Galaxy system, it will be better.

Consider buying the Yale, and selling it on when you move. There is quite an active market for used systems in good conditon, especially the HSA6400 telecommunicating panel. After moving house I sold one on ebay recently with box and instructions, for about what it cost me. Hint: Look at Ironmongery Direct.

Excellent advice guys - i think i'll do that and go for the Yale for now and resell it. Thanks for the link - thats a great price!

Sponsored Links