Garden Supply Socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My background : i have been working in the petroleum industy for around 14 yrs now installing overfill equipment on oil terminals and retail petrol stations.

Over the pasts 4 yrs i have also been attending college to gain appropriate electrcal qualifications in the hope of setting up a buisness to cover electrical installation.

I have this year completed my lvl3 2330 qualifictaion along with the 2382 17th edition and recently gained my 2391.

I have a good knowledge of installtion procedures , however the experience of certain area's i lack slightly.

I am currently in the process of registering with Napit to cover part P and notifyable works.

Recently a friend has asked me to install an outside socket in his garden for his pond pump, i plan to carry out this work once i have completed the Napit registration.

The existing installtion does not have RCD protection or a supplier Isolator switch.

My friend has contacted his supplier and they are coming to install a 100A DP isolator at a cost of £85.

Once this work has been done and i have completed the Napit registration i plan then to carry out the following.

Install Henley blocks to split the supply to a mini cu with 30mA RCD via 25mm tails along with 16mm earth from the MET.

Using 3 core 2.5mm SWA protected by a 20 MCB which will be buried in ducting to an outdoor socket 28m away at the back of the house.

Cable calcs and VD have all been taken into account.

The other option would be to intall one of the 'off the shelf' outside socket kits but this seems a little makeshift to me.

Any thoughts appreciated :)

Rgds

Carpman

Sponsored Links
I don't like those off the shelf socket kits at all. Some claim they are a way to legally get arround notification but I find this claim dubious at best.

Make sure any burried cable is of an appropriate type and properly terminated.