Greenstar 28i issues with H/W.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello: any advice on below gratefully recieved. I am not a heating engineer but ok at fixing/have some experience/competance.

Our Greenstar 28i has been running fine up until some recent water system tinkering due to saniflo issue (!).

1. Poor H/W pressure.
2. Upstairs shower not triggering H/w from bolier.
3. Have been activating shower by running downstairs bath tap to get Hot through, then turning on shower upstairs and off downstairs.
4. Part 3. has got us through the last week or too, but now its reluctant to produce H/W at all.

C/H all fine.
Only way to produce hot water now is to run boiler in service mode (full blast) with H/W running, this seems to allow H/W through to shower.

Advice:
a) does this sound like a diverter valve issue (needing a clean or replace)
b) more like an airlock issue of some sort.
C) something else like the flow turbine (??) or similar.

All lights/fault lights normal.
Have tried switching off for overnight/reset button but no joy on restart.

Switching off 'Eco' function worked a bit, but only gave short burst of hot water, boiler did not kick in 'on demand'.

Have read all postings I can find but would like specific advice/confirmation if possible.

would like some pointers before I take case off.
would like to have a go before engineer called out (totally totally broke!)

Thanks in advance,

Tom

Sponsored Links
You have obviously done something to reduce the pressure to your boiler. Valves may not be fully open, you may have a filter in the cold supply to your boiler?. Either way retrace what you did and rectify the problem you caused.

you may have piped up your saniflo to the hot!

I dont want to speculate on this one to be honest because as they say a little knowledge is dangerous!

Your 3 suggestions are miles out! sorry

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the feedback so far.