greenstar 28i water leak

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi room, i wonder if any one can give advice on my combi water leak.
the worcester greenstar 28i junior has been fitted and working very well for 2 and a half years .yesterday morning after a shower i went out into my utility room where the boiler is wall mounted and discovered water was dripping quiet fast from the boiler , i turned off the electric supply to it and began to investigate.after removing the casing from the boiler i could see the problem a fine jet of water was coming from , now im just a layman so bear with me , the hard black plastic block that is attached to the heat exchanger near the bottom of the boiler to the right of the exchanger is the water pump i mention this for location only.
This black plastic block has about 3 copper pipes going into it which seem to be held in by clips that can be removed it also appears to be matted to the heat exchanger.
anyone know what this plastic part is and if so any idea how much to buy one and also is replacing it a d i y job or do i need an engineer out ?
Thanks for reading and any advice greatly welcome .

Sponsored Links
Pretty common fault due to Worcester usuing cheap plastics in their boilers despite charging the customer premium prices. :rolleyes:

Not exactly easy either. Id get a pro in if I were you

do you know what the part is called any any idea of its cost?what is involved in its replacment

Spare parts and numbers will be in the installation instructions which have "TO BE LEFT WITH THE USER" written on them, look see, phone local spares
outlet.

Sponsored Links
has any one changed one of these "plastic block "things before ? just im a bit hessitant to be ripped off by british gas fixed price squad again . just wanting to know if its possibale for a keen d i y man like me to tackle it .