Grundfos Selectric UPS 15/50 on upside down

PGC

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all I really hope someone can give some advice.

We moved into our current house last January & the central heating has always been noisy & we regularly have to bleed the rad in the bathroom because of air buildup. The people who lived here before us said it's been like that as far as they can remember. But a week ago the CH packed up altogether.

I'm no expert but have now read through lots of web sites & feel sure there's a problem with air in the system. It's a vented system with F&E tank in the loft & has a Grundfos 15/50 fitted which is on upside down (which their manual says isn't recomended) and is pulling water down the venting pipe & I'm sure is drawing air in with it.

I'm not keen on tinkering with what I don't understand so called out an engineer.
Sod's law as soon as we turned it back on it seemed to start working again, but now it only heats the upstairs rads. He checked the pump & said he thought it was OK, the motorised valve & boiler are OK & he checked the valves on all the rads too, but still no heat to downstairs. In the end he admitted he didn't know where the problem was & suggested replacing the pump & see it that does the trick.

before doing that I would like to know if it would be worth turning the existing pump the right way up & running it like that for a few days to see if it rectifies the fault?

I also asked the engineer if there could be sediment in the pipes causing a blockage but he said the water in the F&E tank is clear so it's not that. I spent about a half hour in the loft last night when the timer kicked in watching the F&E tank & the water in the tank might be clear because nothing seems to come out of the vent pipe when the water has heated up.

Any suggestions & advice would be greatly appreciated.
I've had a cod for last couple of days & it looks like the wife is about to come down with it now so I have to get it sorted.