Half paint/ half plaster how do I prepare to paint a wall?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a novice decorator and need some assistance! I am preparing my sons room for painting and redecorating. I removed all the wallpaper which was on the top half of the walls. The bottom half of the walls had been painted. But the top half is unpainted plaster. The paint has chipped in places where I was removing the border and wallpaper. I have chipped back the paint as far as it was loose. But now there is a jagged line of paint covering all the walls of the room. I tried sanding it down, but I think the paint line will still show thru the new paint job. What do I need to do to ensure that the walls are even and smooth before I apply the color to the walls?

Hoping someone can help!

Sponsored Links
Skim those areas with Easy-fill or Tetrion all purpose filler if you cant acheive a smooth finish that way you might want to line the walls for a guaranteed smooth finish ;)

LJW,

Thanks for your response. I was told by B&Q salesperson to water down pva and paint solution over walls first b/4 painting with my choice of color. Is this sound advice? My poor son is desperate to get back into his own room, however I want to make a good job of the redecorating. What should I do? I've already bought the pva and wanted to get on with it today!

Thanks again,
S.

:eek: NO :eek: Never paint PVA then try and get emulsion on top ...That fool @ B+Q wants an enema of PVA :evil: I`m in Sussex, which branch :?: I`ll personally take my enema kit down there and administer it :LOL:

Sponsored Links
I was told by B&Q salesperson to water down pva and paint solution over walls first b/4 painting with my choice of color. Is this sound advice?