Heatline Combi 'howls' when hot water used

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a Heatline boiler, it's brand new, only been installed a couple of weeks and I did it myself. I'm not a heating engineer but I am a plumber.

The central heating side of the boiler is fine, works a treat.

However, when I use the hot water I get a cycling howling sound coming from the boiler itself. The pipes from that are vibrating to the touch.

If I turn the heat down for the hot water, it stops. So it only happens on high heat.

Again, the HEATING is fine! it's just the hot water that comes from the tap and shower.

No pipes are touching one another and all valves are open fully.

Any ideas?

Sponsored Links
Mines does similar but only because the Cold Inlet Valve isn't fully open

As so often seems to happen you have forgotten to tell us which Heatline model you have fitted.

How did you commission it?

As a matter of interest how did you deal with Building Regulations certification if you fitted the boiler yourself?

Tony

Sponsored Links
Agile said:
As so often seems to happen you have forgotten to tell us which Heatline model you have fitted.
Heatline ® ?

Heatline C28 Condensing combination boiler.

Regards commissioning, a Corgi registered friend of mine installed the gas; of which I'm guessing you are referring.

Back to the problem.
When it was first commissioned, the heating system was all filled, pressurised and checked, boiler bled, condensate trap filled to required limit and so on. Fired her up, all worked and is still working a treat.

Hot water was tested a while after and worked also, then from nowhere when the hot tap was used a howling sound could be heard. Worse if a thermostatic mixer shower was used.
Checked the boiler whilst this was happening and without doubt it was coming from it as no pipes were knocking or moving due to being well clipped.