Help for loft conversion DIY on cheap

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there ! newbie here so i'll appologise in advance for any ignorance that shows through...
the house that we moved into already had the loft floored out and collar ties raised with electrics and lighting .
there are braces 1.5 metre high at every truss to floor joist about 1.5 metres from outer wall and for good measure our lawyer got a joiner to put 4 of braces from floor to ridge (not needed apparently). 2 fold question we want to take out the centre braces (floor to ridge) and raise the collar ties which are 30" ridge to bottom of tie ..how higher can i put them with 74 inches from bottom of tie to floor at present.....but want to sister 6x2 joists to existing 4"x2"joists which the ends seem to be in the wall and not on and bricked between joists(not explained well ) .
floor span is about 7m with a load bearing wall roughly at centre dividing rooms below . Can i bolt to existing without going into wall like originals or do i use hangers and cut joists in two and butt together above load bearing wall because of hatch access at moment or would i get away with 2"x2" laid at 90 degrees on top of existing joists .
phew ! that was one hell of questions...sorry !
hope to convert to bedroom only - do it this way as should we move later it wont be too much to get it to regs and planning consent later too
any help would be gratefully accepted....cheers !
stevie

Sponsored Links
for good measure our lawyer got a joiner to put 4 of braces from floor to ridge (not needed apparently)
Huh? Why is your lawyer instructing joiners to work on the roof?! and if it was not needed why was it done?