HELP -Timer on immersion heater.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,I have just moved into rental property and I have a timer for the immersion heater downstairs that was not working and was using the isolator switch upstairs to put the heater on /off for the water .(but kept forgetting to switch it off)
So I took the old timer off to get a replacement , and the heater still worked with the isolation switch only , does this mean that the timer has not been connected from the isolator to the element ?
A bit confused as I don't want to replace it if it's not connected to it .
The landlord doesn't know either.(not interested in repaiing)
Would the isolation switch still heat water when on , if no wires are connected to this other box for the timer.
I wouldn't think so but I'm not an electrician.
any help would be gratefully received.
Thanks. Tina

Sponsored Links
i28457_timer.png

Sponsored Links
3 wires - electrical blocks put on each seperate wire not connected to anything.

red live = in / black = out / blue = neutral.
OK. It's not usual (or necessarily ideal) to wire an immersion timer like that, but it would work if the other ends of the wires were connected appropriately. However, if the immersion works (if you switch on it's isolator switch) with none of those timer wires connected to anything, it's clear that the wires in question are not 'wired in' to the immersion circuit - so, even if you replaced the timer, it would not work (the timer will connect the red and black wires when it wants to switch the immersion on, and break that connection to turn it off, but your immersion is working even without the red and black connected).

Logically, the next thing to do would be to try to find where those wires go - and what (if anything) they are connected to at the other end. If that is difficult, a pragmatic solution would be to get a timer installed adjacent toi the immersion's isolator switch.

Kind Regards, John.

no I don't have a multimeter.