Help with Boiler / Room stat connection

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I'm a complete novice when it comes to anything boiler / plumbing related.

I have an Ariston Clas he boiler (am told it has volt free switching).

I have purchased a drayton Rf700 +2 stat.

Currently the only way i control the boiler is by turning it to on (1) or off (0) on the boiler itself - or by using the little dial as a timer.

I have 2 brown wires and one blue wire that i presume connects to the SCR - but i'm lost as to what connection i need to make.

I've called the Ariston technical helpline and they just tell me i need "volt free switching" and to connect to number 1.

Can anyone help me in simple terms (brown 1 goes to L, brown 2 to 1, blue to 3 etc)

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Page 24 of Ariston clas manual.
Pins 1 and 2 for the wall thermostat/external programmer.

Hi, thanks. Sorry if I sound thick - but I have 3 wires (2 brown, 1 blue). Currently the 2 brown are connected to each other via a choc block and the blue is on it own - this makes my boiler work (albeit by manual control on the front of the boiler)

Sponsored Links
You actually need 4 wires connecting to the receiver unit: L & N are mains, 1 and 3 are the volts free connections.if in doubt get someone in, it will be cheaper than goosing the pcb, which might happen if you get it wrong.

Hi, thanks. Sorry if I sound thick - but I have 3 wires (2 brown, 1 blue). Currently the 2 brown are connected to each other via a choc block and the blue is on it own - this makes my boiler work (albeit by manual control on the front of the boiler)

The manual shows the switch and it is between pins 1 and 2.
Compare the manual to your boiler. It should be fairly clear to someone
with a very basic knowledge of electric. If you don't understand it.
I suggest you should leave electrics well alone.

DIYnot Local

Staff member