help with honeywell st9400 heating controller

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi any help would be appreciated, woke up this morning and there was no power to my honeywell control unit totally blank. so i removed it from the back plate and got my multi meter (i’m no electrician) and put on the live and no reading, does it only go live when the boiler is on?

Sponsored Links
Which live did you test? Main live or switched? Where did you place the probes between which terminals?Have you checked the fuse for continuity/resistance? Have you checked the fused connection unit?

hi i put the red probe in the red wire and tried the black on all of them. i’m not sure on the rcd board where the heating system is, there’s one labelled immersion heater so it might be on that, if it is it’s fine as the immersion heater light is on next to the tank
IMG_3404.jpeg

• Thanks
Reactions: CBW
hi i put the red probe in the red wire and tried the black on all of them. i’m not sure on the rcd board where the heating system is, there’s one labelled immersion heater so it might be on that, if it is it’s fine as the immersion heater light is on next to the tankView attachment 337773
Assuming you tested with the power on and checking Volts ac on the multimeter, you should have approx 230vac between L (red) and N (Black). I’m not talking about the rcd/mcb, nor the immersion - you should have a switch often in the vicinity of the programmer (Honeywell) but could be in the kitchen depends on your layout.

Sponsored Links
yes i tested with the power on but only a real basic meter, i thought it may have been faulty so tested it on a light switch and gave off a good reading so it works ok
there’s only one switch in the cupboard and that’s for the immersion heater on the tank