Hive 2nd zone

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Need a little help! I installed a Hive thermostat to control the ground and 1st floor (annoyingly they share a valve) and all went well, recently the thermostat display on the top floor has died and so I decided it was time to update it to a Hive, I can get it powered up but I can’t get it to activate the motorised valve.

First pic is how the main thermostat is wired up and controls the ground & first floor heating and the hot water.
IMG_5864.jpeg

Second picture is of the thermostat I’m replacing, this has N/C - COM - N/O connections of which N/C was unused.
IMG_5866.jpeg

This is how I’ve used the existing wires from removing the Danfoss controller for the new Hive thermostat:

IMG_5865.jpeg

I’m not an expert but this seems to only give me power to the thermostat and doesn’t control anything, which I’m slightly confused about as the previous thermostat only used these wires and worked perfectly until the display gave up.

Am I short of some wiring? Do I need to bridge a connection?

Sponsored Links
To expand on the above, your existing brown and black wires are not a Live and a Neutral - they are a Live and a switched Live.
Your Hive is powering up, because the connection to the switched live, through the zone valve is acting as a false neutral.
This isn't a good way to power the Hive, and without the switched Live connection to the valve, it ain't going to do much!

As your cable has a brown, black and earth wire, there may be another grey wire hidden behind the Hive backplate.
If this extra wire exists, you may be able to use it as a Neutral wire to power your Hive.

You will also need to find where the other end of this cable goes (probably the wiring centre?)
If this grey wire exists, there is no guarantee that it is connected to anything at the other end.

Lastly, is this new 'stat a single-channel Hive?