hot point wmf740 washing machine and it keeps tripping

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a hot point wmf740 washing machine and it keeps intermittently tripping my circuit breaker. Its not the circuit as that has been tested. I have opened to back to see if there are any wires or springs that are worn or have come loose or getting caught and there is not, there is also no signs of water leakage at all. I have narrowed it to the motor as just before the circuit trip there is a rubbery/plastic smell then there's a flash from the motor location then trips the circuit. Again there's no external signs of damage, burning, melting, cables caught or frayed ect.
I dont understand as the motor works fine then with no pattern there's a flash and it stops.
Also i dont understand were the burning rubbery smell is coming from as the belt looks fine.
Has any body got any ideas and is this a simple fix.
Im a Much appreciated newbie. :unsure:

Sponsored Links
I think you're going to need a sparky for this one, some consumer units have a split board, one side not being as sensitive, i know my limitations and myself get the afore mentioned sparky in to check it out.

Sponsored Links
I have a hot point wmf740 washing machine and it keeps intermittently tripping my circuit breaker. Its not the circuit as that has been tested. I have opened to back to see if there are any wires or springs that are worn or have come loose or getting caught and there is not, there is also no signs of water leakage at all. I have narrowed it to the motor as just before the circuit trip there is a rubbery/plastic smell then there's a flash from the motor location then trips the circuit. Again there's no external signs of damage, burning, melting, cables caught or frayed ect.
I dont understand as the motor works fine then with no pattern there's a flash and it stops.
Also i dont understand were the burning rubbery smell is coming from as the belt looks fine.