Hot water system noisy - wakes me up !!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Please help.

Our hot water system has become very noise, gurgling and bubbling - as if air is in the system. When the timer kicks in, it is initially quiet, then you can hear the pipes from the boiler in the kitchen up to the emersion heater - where it is loudest.

It sounds to me like there is back-flow from the emersion - but i am no expert. This has only recently happened. We have had issues with air trapped in radiators - but this is easily bled. The issue now is hot water related. Sometimes, the cold water tap in the en-suite gets hot as well ???

Sponsored Links
Strange thing happened yesterday. We turned on the Central Heating for the first time in a couple of months yesterday evening. This morning, when the hot water timer switched on, the gurgling was not present.

Did using the Central Heating system somehow clear / resolve the issue with the hot water ???

Does your boiler have a white casing?

Is Keith Emerson still there, or has he gone off with Greg Lake again?

The emersion heater has a green casing.

The problem is back. It's only when we use the hot water. When we use the central heating, it seems to stop the problem for a while. Then, when we just use the hot water, the gurgling comes back whilst it is being heated up.

Sponsored Links
The first action is to check that there is sufficient water in the F&E cistern.

If you don't know what that means, please ask.

If there is, then please state how many motorised valves your system has. Also the make/model of your boiler.

Not sure what a F&E cistern is or where to find it.

I will get the boiler details tonight.

Feed and Expansion cistern.

It will be either in your loft or in your airing cupboard.

Okay,

The boiler, (in kitchen), is a Glow-worm Ultimate 40FF
The hot water tank, (upstairs), is a Drayton HTS3
The only valve I can find is a Lifestyle Mid Position Valve, (upstairs)