I NEED to build a garage!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, just registered as i need some advice about building a garage.

Ive been searching the net for weeks and have learnt alot but still have questions.

First off, im a tiler by trade. I can turn my hands to most things, including blockwork.
I am confident in my abilities to build it, just not confident in my understanding of the requirements.

It will be 7.5x4m ish.
Double doors on narrow end, single door just after half way, 2 windows in one side.

It will be close to a boundary so will have to be block. It will have to be flat roof i guess due to the 2.5m height restrictions.

What im struggling with is foundations.

Slab with built in footings, or strip foundations with seperate slab floor? I'd like it to be as draft and damp proof as possible. It wont be for cars, it will be for a couple of motorbikes in one half and general hobby stuff in the other half.

I was going to build from wood as i could have built up from a slab but being close to a boundary makes this a no go.

There is no rear access and the site will be maybe 150'-200' from the road.

All the calcs ive done seem to suggest i need around 10 cubic meters of concrete. This would have to be ready mix, and pumped due to amounts and access and is going to get very expensive!
Is there any other options?

How much could 2 people expect to mix and pour in a day? Not 10sq M i guess!

If i go seperate footings and do the slab floor in 2 parts i can do it on 3 seperate ocassions rather than all at once.

A guy at work said i could lay the foundations in bits and as long as there is re-bar it would be fine. Is this true?

Walls will be block for 2 walls that are hidden and brick for 2 that are seen.

This is my first house and it requires renovation. Doesnt even have a kitchen yet! Not alot of spare cash left so i could do with saving on the costs of the foundations if i can, hence trying to avoid pumping large amounts of ready mix.