Installing Downlights

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Im a newbie to the site and just joined up today. Wow what a site for good information.

Now i know most of you lads hate downlights from what i have read in the first 50 pages of this section so i might be treading on very thin ice here so here goes.

Last year we moved into our brand new house and after settling ive started looking at the layout upstairs and wasnt really happy with it. So i knocked a few studded walls down and rebuilt them to how i wanted them and also moved all the light switches to where they should be and not behind where your wardrobes would sit ( Lovell homes :rolleyes: ) Now i did that pretty well and i aint no sparky (Im a sheet metal roofer) but i believe if your competent enough to do it then get it done.
Now i really like the light that downlights give off and how modern they look in your home so i planned to install 13no mains fixed GU10 halogen lights and 3 no mains adjustable GZ10 halogen lights throughout upstairs excluding the bathroom.
Now i want to get rid of the standard single pendant type light that we all have but what i want to know is can i link my downlights to the single ceiling rose I.E Link ceiling rose to first downlight then daisey chain to other lights. There will be a maximum of 4 lights in each room exept for one with will have 3 fixed lights and 2 adjustable. Will this be ok or will it cause an overload. If someone could give a step by step guide to wiring them up then that would be fantastic and help me get this major job out of the way and to move onto the next one :cry: :cry:

Also forgot to mention that all the rooms have a dimmer switch and that the lights are 50w

Many thanks

Kris Latham

Sponsored Links
it wont look nice, but yes you can and you also need to derate the dimmers, so 150 watt of light you need 300w dimmer (unless i t has been derated already)

as for how look in sticky or wiki, and also part p

KrisLatham said: