Insurance

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good morning,

Please can you help with the following , I am studying for my level 3 2330 and I am keen to pick up practical experience.

My approach has been to send letters explaining who I am , what i am studying and what I want to acheive. I work 4 days on 4 days off at the moment so any work was experience only i.e. free labour. I have worked on a couple of rewires with a friend who is a qualified electrician where I was generally house bashing but hey thats great (other then the thick stone walls) , I was sent up into the loft etc to loop in the wiring , routing the cables under the flooe boards all good stuff and a different/better way to learn than looking at the text book.

Following a letter I had sent i got a call from a company offering me some work , he explained how he was once in my position and how his knowledge would be beneficial to me. He asked me to call him at the weekend which I did and I hav'nt heard anything since. I called y'day and he rang me back but then cut me off and again i haven't heard anything since (I have accepeted that he is no longer interested) Is the issue here likely to be 1/the insurance factor i.e. am insured to work under his company insurance or is that something I need to sort out 2/the work was no longer there or both , its frustrating , I would much rather receive an honest response as I have received plenty of knockbacks since I started looking for experience.

Sponsored Links
Dont be disheartened , and persevere.

Many companies have Millions of pounds worth of insurance,
Unless you are a exceptionally high risk, I would have thought you would just be in the pool with the other blokes , as an employee.

Many firms are busy and rather spend time making money than talking to the employees or potential ones.
I worked for a firm that banned you from even going to the office.

Not being nasty or personall but