Is Gas safe just a front for expensive morons ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Boiler "serviced" for 9 years by same man...all the registrations known to man and a real if its gas you must not even look at it attitude, which being a engineer myself I thought great, must know his stuff....

Boiler started to bang on lighting, then lit and went out. Boiler man called...1 Hour of diagnosing @£85 the fault was our boiler was passed its prime and need to be replaced 12 years old and its a Biasi so you got your moneys worth.....diagnosis primary heat exchanger leak. Would order a new one and install within a week.

Boiler not working so being a curious cat opened up said boiler...water in inspection glass...ooh that's odd. Why oh why was it not draining away via the condensate trap. Remove condensate trap water gushed out....oh what a surprise. Inside the trap filled to the brim with sludge, ball valve stuck to the bottom.

Second moron arrives to fix first morons work...1/2 inch driver to remove 10mm nut off stud holding the boiler faceplate on ...wow the stud sheared, one thinks that having the word engineer in their trade title a gas safe engineer would know to perhaps spray said nuts with a little penetrating fluid or even some wd40 you know as they exposed to heat and moisture in their working environment...but no what you do is apply 120 newton of force to said mild steel nut....Then clever clogs decides to remove the sparker and flame detector with a impact driver....can you guess what happened to the mild steal pz1 screw heads...ooh you can can't you.

Lucky for him I work a a place that has all manner of goodies to fix said bodge work. Induction welding a new stud to the sheared on in situ is not difficult if your are an engineer , the kit costs less that a basic boiler. Two screws drilled out and tapped, one stud weld and a rethread we are back to the start, tap and die set are what £40 quid...but no not in the armoury of said engineer.