Is it really necessary to have a water tank in the loft?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Please bare with me, I'm not a professional plumber, and was wondering why you have to have a cold water tank in your loft.

The only thing my cold water tank seems to feed is the hot water cylinder & power showers. Why can these not be connected to the main water supply instead?

The reason I'm asking is because I want the space in the loft for other stuff (storage). It's not just the space the tank takes up (50 gal), it's all the pipes that run this way and that. It's impossible to move up there.

My central heating system is about 20 years old and is due for replacement. My neighbour had hers replaced and the hot water cylinder is now in the garage with the boiler (a pressured system that keeps the hot water pressure constant - so she says). I dont know if she still needed her cold water tank.

Are there ch & hw systems that can be bought these days which do not require cold water tanks? Or will I have to have one regardless.

Could the cold water tank be sited somewhere else like the garage too?

My showers are fed from electric pumps, so i assume they would pull water from wherever the cold water tank was sited.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
they can

you have an INDIRECT system and a mains fed one is called a DIRECT system

you can site a water cistern anywhere as long as it is above your taps as you need gravity to feed the water down
:)

Corgi, do you mean he has gravity and you can get mains un-vented pressuried cylinders :?: :confused: