Is my PCB broken ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've got no heat or hot water from my Chaffateaux Britony Combi boiler.
I power it on & ask for HW or CH (same symptoms happen) Pump starts ok, but fan does not. Eventually it displays an error code meaning the "air pressure switch is not responding with the fan on ". But the fan is not on, so it wouldn't trigger the switch !

If I supply the fan with 240V manually (i.e. with an extension cable and reasonable care), then the air pressure switch responds and the boiler gets passed that.

But then...it doesn't power the piezo ignition. So then the boiler locks out as it knows the gas hasn't been lit

Both the fan and the ignition come from the PCB and neither seem to be working ok or quite as I expect - but then I'm not an expert.

I would be grateful for a bit of advice/experience on these things. PCBs are too expensive, and non-returnable if I buy one I don't need ! Any quick fixes to try ? I have a soldering iron if need be...

Sponsored Links
i am not a plumber or heating engineer, but since you have a soldering iron, you could try looking for dry joints (and of course you are going to note which plug / lead goes where first)

Usually a boiler looks to see that the air pressure switch is in its resting state before it turns the fan on. ie the switch is a changeover type. If it sees the switch is wrong, it stops there. A check on the signals back to the pcb would confirm.

Changing airflow parts is a corgi -bod's area

if you have no powe to the fan on your ignition demand then its either a board fault, plug/lead fault, or the air pressure switch is stuck open.
you said you put 240 v to the fan and the air pressure switch "responds" do you mean it switches over ,proven with an AVO ?. If your air switch isnt sticking and the connections are all ok the it looks as if your board has had it.

Sponsored Links