Keeping it Legal

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Calling all Corgi chaps

I'm a plumber who has been putting in gas central heating systems with a registered CORGI installer. We are both self employed (separately, if you see what I mean). He has suggested recently that I do the majority of the work whilst he's not there and he'll sort out the gas side of things ie disconnect from old system and then reconnect and commission the boiler, once it is all ready. Although I trust the chap I use - I've know him for many years and he's been registered with CORGI for 22 years, he is the only CORGI person I know and just want to check that I will not be breaking the law.

First of all I thought I wasn't allowed to mount the boiler unless being observed by a registered installer - is this true? If so I believe we can get round this by simply mounting the jig (as with some of the Halsteads for example) and then putting the boiler up when the chap comes round to do the gas connections. However, if I am not allowed to mount the boiler it does mean that the 'water' side of the system can't be checked prior to the CORGI chap arriving.. hence the question.

This then brings me to the question of the water pump - I'm assuming that I'm not allowed to take the front cover off to bleed the pump? Is this correct?

The gas pipework. Other than the final connection to the gas supply, am I allowed to run and solder the gas pipework as long as it is checked by the CORGI chap before he connects and tests the supply? (assuming pipe sizing, position and location all being correct)

Are there any restrictions as to what I am allowed to do re the flue? I realise that on some of the models if I can't mount the boiler then it's going to pretty difficult to work out where the flue needs to be, but at least the hole can be made and the flue placed in-situ in readiness for connection....