Kitchen hot tap not running

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've woken up this morning to a kitchen hot tap that is not running any water.

Cold tap is fine, 2 other hot taps in bathrooms are fine, central heating is fine and boiler pressure is fine and doesn't show any warnings.

My first thought (considering the weather) was a frozen pipe, but if the cold tap to the same sink is OK, is that possible? I would have thought both would be not working.

I'm a novice so would appreciate any advice on how to diagnose this problem.

The only other thing of note is that builders had left my outside hose tap on a couple of weeks ago. I only noticed last night, as the hose has a trigger so had only just starting spurting out yesterday when the pressure had built up. There was a considerable amount of water outside but it has drained away overnight. I can't see how it would be connected but could be relevant.

Sponsored Links
Show us a pic of your tap.
Is no hot water flowing at all ,or is it flowing but not hot ?
If it's the former its most likely the tap valve at fault.

Thanks, picture attached below, it's a mixer with one handle for hot and one for cold.

There's no water at all coming out when I turn the handle for hot, but cold is coming out fine.

20221214_122232579_iOS.jpg

Likely the tap insert, however check under the sink if there’s an isolation valve fitted and been turned off by mistake.

Sponsored Links
It's either blocked ,or the tap valve is kaput .
Is hot water provided by a combi boiler or gravity fed hot water cylinder ?

Both valves in the right position and I've done a sanity check on the cold one, works as expected.

I've got a combi boiler, Worcester green Star 32.

I think my next step will be to remove the tap but not sure what I'd be looking for?

16710218401189052232268286575768.jpg