Kitchen

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

here's a thread about a kitchen renovation for a house I bought in March. It's my first house but I have helped my Dad with DIY so not a total newbie. I haven't made great progress (mostly due to other jobs in the house to be fair). I'm hoping that posting here will motivate me to finish it as during winter I've really missed having a fully functional kitchen.

I don't have a good starting photo but it was classic 90s.

My teenage (but quite tall!) nephew helped me rip out most of the units (I kept the sink and a couple of side units so the kitchen retained some functionality). On the right side the wall units obscured the window. I like light and immediately decided the new kitchen wouldn't have wall units that side.
upload_2021-12-23_19-53-21.png

Some of the electrics were.. ahem.. interesting. When I got an RCD CU fitted the kitchen light tripped it. At least the problem was easy to find..
upload_2021-12-23_19-55-2.png
upload_2021-12-23_19-55-51.png

Removed partition to old utility room/pantry. It was a waste of a window and the plasterboard was rotten anyway. Not decided exactly how to use the space- simply that the washing machine will live down there. The soil stack is in the middle of the wall (why they didn't put it in the corner is a mystery). Seems a lot of effort to move the whole stack so I'll either just box it in better or move the top section of pipe and have a bend below worktop where it'll be well hidden.
upload_2021-12-23_19-57-50.png

Removed all the floor tiles. It's not clear in the photo but the screed is unevenly laid, especially in the utility room. I chiselled out some high spots by hand and will do more now I have borrowed an SDS drill. Then self levelling compound. Chasing all cable in wall rather than loose wires strung across the wall units! Oh... they'll all be level too!
upload_2021-12-23_20-1-18.png

Recent photo:
upload_2021-12-23_20-9-40.png