Leaking Outhouse Roof - Help Needed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm a total DIY novice, just moved into my first house this year, and have discovered that my outhouse roof is leaking and appears to be in need of sharpish repair.

As said I'm a novice so any advice you guys are willing to give, I would appreciate in thicko terms lol.

I've been up on the roof itself and it looks to be a sort of concrete material, rough not smooth. I noticed my neighbour has a sort of grey thick sheeting like material over her outhouse roof.

Basically I want to get this repaired or at least patched up over the winter but I'm fearful a roofer will charge the earth, which I can't really afford at the minute.

Can anyone give me some basic advise as to how to go about this.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Paul

Sponsored Links
Corrugated grey asbestos sheeting?

Firstly don't climb up on it, and don't try to remove it at the moment. There are precautions that should be observed before removing asbestos sheeting, and disposal can be a pain in the ... / or expensive.

Secondly, are you sure it's leaking? Condensation is a problem at this time of year as moisture condenses on the cold roof internally, and then drips off, giving the impression of a leak.

If it is leaking, you can buy tins of paint-on roof repair mastic.

See this thread: //www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=155310

Short term fix would be to chuck a tarpaulin over it and leave it til spring/summer. Long term would be to remove it and replace with fibre cement sheeting (which looks identical to the asbo sheets) or the cheaper option would be the corrugated bitumen sheets they sell in wickes.

Thanks for the reply.

I don't think it's asbestos sheeting. It just looks like concrete, in fact it probably is. If the weather's ok tomorrow I'll try to get up and take a picture of it.