LED downlighters in shower. Allowed/correct?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I am currently doing some improvements to the bathroom in a house I am renting. My landlord has pretty much said "do what you want", but I wanted to check here that what I am proposing is allowed under the electrical regs.

I do know a bit about wiring but I'm not an electrician so I hoped one of you guys could put me straight.

Basically I have an enclosed shower cubicle which gets pretty dark inside, so what I want to do is put some 12 volt LED downlighters either in the ceiling itself above the shower, or build a false ceiling and put them in there.

I want to go low voltage for obvious reasons (it will be in a shower cubicle :D ).

What I am proposing is to install them and run them off a transformer wired into the existing light fitting in the center of the room. Obviously I will check that the capacity of the circuit will not be overloaded (it is currently on a 5A MCB) though as LED lights don't draw much power I doubt it will be.

The transformer will be up in the loft space and will be a meter or so from the actual lights themselves, so definitely not directly above the shower.

My main question is this: I know that electrical work in a bathroom is notifiable, but does this also apply if you're using low voltage fixtures which have no direct connection to the mains?

And is wiring the transformer into the lighting circuit something that I'm legally allowed to do myself? I know it'll just be a case of connecting it in between the current fitting and the next light on the circuit, but as I said I'm not particularly up on the legal stuff so I thought I'd better check.

Thanks for any help.

Sponsored Links
I know it'll just be a case of connecting it in between the current fitting and the next light on the circuit

Spot the deliberate mistake. :)