low voltage lighting: higher current?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am just starting to learn all about electricity - I have learnt alot recently.

I did Physics in school so I learnt all the forumlas etc etc, its a shame I only paid a bit of attention to it! Alot is coming back though.

A question about low voltage lights - If the voltage is lowered, then the current will increase - correct?

Isnt higher current more dangerous?

I remember learning about coulombs of charge. What is the idea/formula that shows that 240v is more potent than 24v - doesnt that relate to the coulombs of chare??

I was looking at the power box in the pool shed and noticed there is an 80A (!!) fuse, which is for the two pool lights. In this case, isnt that extremely high & dangerous ??? Or would the voltage be lower, hence the higher current??

Sponsored Links
Yes, low voltage circuits need thicker cables, heavier duty switches etc. but are safer when it comes to electric shocks due to the high resistance of human skin, meaning very little current can actually pass through you if you come into contact with a low voltage. 12 volt car wiring is just as capable of going up in flames as 240 volt house wiring if there's a short circuit though.

Thanks for that reply.

So going back to the pool shed - Im pretty sure the power that comes to the pool shed is 240V (im in australia). It is in thick conduit, probably 1 1/2in" thick.

The pool lights are 32V. The circuit breaker for the lights is 80A. Wouldnt that mean the cable to the pool lights would be really thick ???? Also, wouldnt it mean the lights themselves are quite power hungry?? (somewhere around 2000W????).

Sorry if this sounds very newbie ... ! Have to start somewhere!

Andrewh01 said:
A question about low voltage lights - If the voltage is lowered, then the current will increase - correct?

yep

Isnt higher current more dangerous?

It is, if that current is flowing through you.