Mac users beware

Sponsored Links
http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/news/apple/3304630/mac-os-x-lion-flaw-could-see-hackers-changing-passwords/

Ah, Apple. They take a solid, secure system and then go and throw every basic tenet of computer security out the window, because they can.

Mac users beware: Apple are terminally stupid.

Ah, Apple. They take a solid, secure system and then go and throw every basic tenet of computer security out the window, because they can.

And charge a fortune for their stuff, because stupid people think "Expensive = Good." ;) ;)

I've been using Macs since mid 1987 because, back then when I was writing my first book, it was the only platform for serious publishing. (MS Word for Windows wasn't released till late 1987 - too late for me.)

Since then, I have come across zero (= 0) self-replicating viruses, zero (= 0) "worms" and one (1) "trojan", which requested that I type in my password and install it (a sort of "Irish virus" - with apologies to any Irishmen but you know what I mean!) In other words, the real world risk to Mac users is a tiny glimmer from Pluto, compared with the sun, which represents the level of risk to Windows users. Call it miniscule tending to zero for anyone with a brain cell. However, I freely admit that there are computer users out there (regardless of Operating System) who do seem to be devoid of common sense so it could happen.

This latest "vulnerability" requires me to leave my computer lying around where some nefarious person can pick it up and interfere with it. Well, I may be old but I'm not quite that demented yet, so it ain't gonna happen to me. In fact I'm far more likely to leave my wallet full of credit cards lying around and I haven't found any AV software to prevent that, yet! ;)

Sponsored Links