memera 2000 fuse box

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by shandyf, 22 Sep 2005.

  1. shandyf

    Joined:
    4 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    Does anyone know where I can buy a new "fuse holder" for a memera 2000 fuse box. I want to wire in a new plug socket ring to my existing fuse box and I have one spare slot available for what I call a "fuse holder"!! It's the thing that you can pull from the box to isolate the ring and/or change a fuse (aprox 2inches high and 0.5inches wide)

    Also, what amp fuse should I use (13?)??

    There will be 12 double sockets in a ring hanging off it.

    Thanks!
     
  2. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    51,199
    Thanks Received:
    2,003
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you really sure that you have enough knowledge and experience right now to be doing this?

    Also, are you aware of Part P of the Building Regulations, and the fact that as this is notifiable work you are required to notify your LABC about it before you start?
     
  3. shandyf

    Joined:
    4 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, I'm not sure.

    The main thing here is that I don't know the specific name for this "fuse holder" - give me a break.

    Yes - I DO know that I need to do things differently with building regs nowadays and I have it covered with a qualified electrician.

    I am simply trying to get this "part", i.e. the "fuse holder" bought in advance so he can just arrive and do the job.

    Can you possibly help me at all?

    Thanks
     
  4. andy

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2004
    Messages:
    3,971
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes. let the spark get the right stuff. and for a start, its not 13A.
     
  5. shandyf

    Joined:
    4 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks very much
     
  6. ryanj

    Joined:
    5 Oct 2003
    Messages:
    209
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm.

    While we're on the subject.

    Do these consumer units come in metalclad?

    Has anybody used them, what do you think of them?
     
  7. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    25,801
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, Yes and Good.
     
  8. kai

    kai

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It looks like you need a B32 amp MCB to fit the memera 2000 consumer unit. They clip onto the din-rail, and are available for many electrical wholesalers.
     
  9. baldelectrician

    Joined:
    27 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Ayrshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that's why I buy MK consumer units,

    They make an adaptor kit (retrofit kit) to fit new style MCB's into the old sentry units. (these old units were out at lease 15 years BEFORE memra 2000) but MK still do spares.

    As I have said before you get what you pay for.
     
  10. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    51,199
    Thanks Received:
    2,003
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And with MK that's flimsy cases, dodgy bus-bar covers, MCBs that won't sit upright on the rail.....
     
  11. Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,379
    Thanks Received:
    424
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sticking with the correct make means you have a fully type tested consumer unit which is a better idea, I think the OP might have got it fixed now though as the post was made in 2005
     
  12. RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,365
    Thanks Received:
    1,108
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep using some other manufacturers kit is going to leave you with a non-compliant installation.

    For the sake of a few quid, buy the correct part, and leave yourself with a safe, compliant installation.

    Oh and the day I start taking the advice of 'the guy from wickes' over specific instruction from the manufacturers is the day I need to start taking a long hard look at where my life has gone wrong.
     
  13. Adam_151

    Joined:
    17 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    5,950
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    IIRC, the memera 2000 had two revisions. The earlier one having wider busbar tabs. You are meant to use memshield 2 commerial range if you need a breaker to fit the earlier revision. I cant remember which range for the later revision.
     
  14. bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    11,975
    Thanks Received:
    996
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    note the date of the thread PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 9:13 pm
     
  15. baldelectrician

    Joined:
    27 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Ayrshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know this is from 2005, but MK have went downhill since then

    I don't use MK now as they are (in my opinion) cheap, flimsy and prone to manufacturing defects. This applies to the acessories and the consumer units
     

Share This Page